The Hines Creek Golf Course is truly a hidden gem in the Peace Country! Located 6 km south of Hines Creek just off of Highway 64, this family-friendly course is a short and scenic drive from both Grande Prairie and Peace River.
Enjoy an affordable and relaxing golf experience on this beautifully treed course in the spectacular Clear Hills County. This is the second oldest course in Northern Alberta and a wagon wheel monument on the course commemorates the Fort Saint John Wagon Trail which ran through the area many years ago.
Designed for maximum enjoyment regardless of your golfing abilities, this course welcomes beginners and offers a challenge for the low handicapper. The Hines Creek meanders through the course coming into play on five holes offering visitors some stunning views and challenging shots!
Eleven well-placed holes, grass greens and a full irrigation system ensure a quality experience every time. Relax with a beverage on the back patio of the new clubhouse and watch the putting action on the ninth green! The clubhouse restaurant offers a full menu and licensed bar. Cart rentals and public camping are available. OHV enthusiasts can access the Sand Lake trail system in this area offering more activities for visitors of all ages.
Tuesday night– Ladies’ League – drop-in welcome
Wednesday night – Men’s League – drop-in welcome
Thursday mornings – Seniors’ League – drop-in welcome
Thursday night – Couples’ League – drop-in welcome
- Open – May 21
- Skins – June 11 & 12
- Couples – July 9th
- Golf & Music – July 22nd
- All in One – August 13th
- Fun Night – August 20th
- Glowball – September 3rd
Check the website for rates and availability.
Call for more information.
Hines Creek Golf Course Campground
Choose your own beautiful and cozy site at the Hines Creek Golf Course campground. Relax to the sound of the nearby Hines Creek and enjoy the scent of evergreens in this uncrowded area of the Mighty Peace Region. Enjoy an easily accessible and relaxed golf experience on this well-treed course in beautiful Clear Hills County. Finish up your round with a beverage on the back patio of the new clubhouse and watch the putting action on the ninth green!
Need a break from meal prep? Don’t worry, the clubhouse restaurant offers a full menu and a licensed bar. Bring your OHV! There is great access to the Sand Lake Trail System in this area, offering more activities for visitors of all ages. Firepits and tables are also available.
Seasonal Lots Available
Public Camping available $10/night.
For more information and current rates call – 780-494-2217
Place Title: Carters Camp CampgroundPlace Description:
Some of the most stunning scenery on the planet can be seen from the top of the Peace River Banks. An excellent example of this is the Carters Camp area. As visitors descend down into the river valley, they can enjoy the views of the river below and the hills around them. Arriving into the Carters Camp area which is located adjacent the river, visitors will most likely stop and admire the view before them! There are two separate camping areas here. The boat launch area is just before the main camping area. Both campgrounds are well equipped with camp kitchens, outhouses, fire pits, picnic tables and playgrounds. Try your luck at a game of horseshoes and when you’re ready to relax, there’s lots of fire wood available for a long enjoyable campfire in the evening! Many of the campsites offer a river view that will take your breath away. The Carters Camp campground area is where the Montagneuse River empties into the Peace River. This makes for many interesting areas to hike and explore. Campers can enjoy playing in the water and also try their hand at fishing! Keep your eyes open for wildlife along the river and high on the banks.
This area is named for Art and Anna Carter who were pioneers of the area and settled near the mouth of the Montagneuse River in 1917. A monument to this adventurous couple can be seen along the road into the campsite.
Carters Camp can be found 25km west of Hines Creek on highway 685.
For information call – 780-685-3925Address: Alberta 685
CanadaTelephone Number: 780-685-3925Some of the most stunning scenery on the planet can be seen from the top of the Peace River Banks. An excellent example of this is the Carters Camp area. As visitors descend down into the river valley, they can enjoy the views of the river below and the hills around them. Arriving into the Carters Camp area which is Read more...
Place Title: Dave Shaw Memorial ComplexPlace Description:
4-sheet curling rink as well as an arena used mainly for hockey and figure skating. There is also a hall with a full kitchen.Tags: Hines Creek WinterAddress: 712 6 Ave
Canada4-sheet curling rink as well as an arena used mainly for hockey and figure skating. There is also a hall with a full kitchen. Read more...
Place Title: End of Steel MuseumPlace Description:
END OF STEEL MUSEUM
Bringing the homesteading history of Hines Creek to life.
The End of Steel Museum opened to the public in 1985 and has been growing and evolving ever since. The museum celebrates the history of the Hines Creek area which is unique because it was the end of the railway line. The tracks were built only to the point that freight rates would have increased and no further. This entailed the moving of the village, from its original site on the creek from which it takes its name, to the present day location. Hines Creek became a transportation hub with the arrival of the first train in December of 1930 and at one point there were five grain elevators along the tracks.
The museum has three historic houses: the Pohaboff House (1928) which is a good example of the sort of small hand-hewn log house built by arriving immigrant settlers; the Carter House (1938) is an unusually large and somewhat grand home, especially as it was built during the Great Depression as Art Carter (of Carter Camp) owned a sawmill; the French “Half-House” (1948-1949) is exactly that, only half the two story home was ever constructed due to financial problems, the staircase is incredibly narrow. These three homes are furnished with time appropriate artifacts to give visitors the feeling that the owners’ might return at any moment.
Hines Creek School #4430 is a one room log structure which allows one to imagine what it must have been like to ride to school three on a pony or try to learn when it was so cold out that the wood stove had to be stoked to the point that it was quite literally red hot. There are two historic churches, Christ Lutheran Church (1928-1932) preserved and restored by children of the original builders and St. James Anglican (1938) was erected through a donation from the Women’s Auxiliary of St. James Anglican Church in Stratford, Ontario, prior to that the congregation had to make due with meeting in schools and homes and with Miss Eva Hasell’s Sunday School Caravan.
The museum also has a Trapper’s log cabin which while not that old (1975) is no different from a much earlier trapper’s cabin. Although tiny and crude, the temporary shelters resorted to while out on the trapline made this a welcome home base. We also have a caboose, NAR 13021 which was built in Montreal in 1949, and served as bedroom, office, and kitchen for three railmen. In 1945 Morgan’s Confectionary began as John and Mary Morgan’s clothing store, later the couple also had a cafe, grocery, the bus depot and sold all manner of licenses in Hines Creek, after John’s passing in 1967 Mary returned and started the confectionary, running it until she was 91.
The Wildlife and Forestry exhibits are housing in a stunning contemporary log building. Inside it boasts an amazing display of local wildlife set in an autumn boreal forest and a comprehensive display of the sort of hand tools that were used to build settlers homes, as well as early chain saws. We also have a large collection of agricultural equipment and machinery, hand tools and early tractors and vehicles, including a Bombardier “Nodwell” the track vehicle that kept the Canadian north connected. Two projects we are currently working on are a Ukrainian Heritage building and a working blacksmith’s shop in our new Blacksmith building.
Lubeck Hall is a good example of the sort of community hall that dotted the area, built so that the scattered farm population could have a place to come together, to dance and play and get the news. Today is the location of our Saturday Farmers’ Market, which is a popular place to chat over a cinnamon bun hot out of the oven and a cup of coffee.
Pancake Breakfast, 8:30 – 11:00, Canada Day, July 1st.
Adults $10:00, Children 6 – 12 $5.00, Children under 5 free.
Pancakes with fresh berries, whipped cream and syrup, ham and eggs make for a delicious breakfast and Morgan’s Confectionary is decorated to celebrate Canada Day!
Heritage Day, 8:30 – 6:00, Monday of the August long weekend.
Entry by Donation.
A pancake breakfast begins the day followed by demonstrations of pioneer crafts, log sawing, an antique tractor parade, horse drawn wagon rides, bannock baked over an open fire, blacksmithing demonstration, petting zoo, games for children, a country market, bread baked in our historic outdoor clay oven, live music, and of course, tours of the museum buildings. There will be hamburgers, hot dogs, homemade pie and ice cream, lemonade and iced tea for sale starting at noon.
The museum is located at the intersection of Highway 64 and Highway 685, the southern most of the two exits for Hines Creek.
Mailing Address: End of Steel Museum, Box 686, Hines Creek, AB, T0H 2A0
Office: 780-494-3522 (Answering Machine)
Curator: 780-834-6538 Jean Young (Wed. – Sat.)
Bookings: 780- 835-7827 (Weddings, School Tours, Hall Rental)
Open mid May to mid Sept.
Monday to Saturday 10:00 – 6:00
Sunday 1:00 – 6:00
Last tour of buildings 4:30Tags: Edu-vacationAddress: Hines Creek
CanadaEND OF STEEL MUSEUM Bringing the homesteading history of Hines Creek to life. The End of Steel Museum opened to the public in 1985 and has been growing and evolving ever since. The museum celebrates the history of the Hines Creek area which is unique because it was the end of the railway line. The tracks were built only to Read more...
Place Title: Hines Creek HotelPlace Description:
The Hines Creek Hotel is rich in personality and keeps bands and fans coming back time and time again. Whether it is the comfortable atmosphere, the delicious homemade food or the friendly staff and customers, visitors always come back for more. The Hines Creek Hotel has been a landmark in the little Village of Hines Creek since 1931. The hotel has many stories to tell and the locals and staff are always willing to give you a good story.
The majority of their food is locally sourced and all homemade. On the weekends you can enjoy local entertainment and even karaoke on some nights.Tags: Hines Creek WinterAddress: 106 10 St
CanadaTelephone Number: (780) 494-2775Email: firstname.lastname@example.orgThe Hines Creek Hotel is rich in personality and keeps bands and fans coming back time and time again. Whether it is the comfortable atmosphere, the delicious homemade food or the friendly staff and customers, visitors always come back for more. The Hines Creek Hotel has been a landmark in the little Village of Hines Creek since 1931. The hotel Read more...
Place Title: Hines Creek Spray Park and PlaygroundPlace Description:
Located in the heart of Hines Creek, this spray park and playground have a great selection of play equipment for little visitors to choose from. During the warm summer days bring a picnic, swimming suits and enjoy a long Peace Country summer day. Located just off Main Street behind the village offices. For information call 780-494-3690.Address: Main Street
CanadaTelephone Number: 780-494-3690Located in the heart of Hines Creek, this spray park and playground have a great selection of play equipment for little visitors to choose from. During the warm summer days bring a picnic, swimming suits and enjoy a long Peace Country summer day. Located just off Main Street behind the village offices. For information call 780-494-3690. Read more...